There are older checked-in versions of PowerCenter objects in the recent PowerCenter folder or repository.
For the largest and most actively maintained folders, the responsive time while using Designer is slow.
Is there a way to clean them all?
This can be done using one of the following:
Advanced Purge (Repository Manager)
You can delete the older checked-in version in the Repository Manager using the Advanced Purge option as follows:
pmrep PurgeVersion (Command Line)
You can use the pmrep PurgeVersion command to purge older versions from a command prompt.
To use the PurgeVersion command, you must have the Administrator Repository privilege.
The PurgeVersion command uses the following syntax:
The following example purges all versions of all deleted objects in the repository:
The following example purges all but the latest checked-in version of objects in the folder1 folder:
The following example previews a purge of all object versions that were checked in
before noon on January 5, 2005, and outputs the results to
the file named purge_output.txt:
pmrep purgeversion -t '01/05/2005 12:00:00' -o purge_output.txt -p
Purge Object Version (Repository Manager)
To purge one object version do the following:
This can also be used in conjunction with the object query feature in the Repository Manager.
Please refer to the related articles below.
If the PowerCenter repository is a versioned repository, it is possible to rollback changes to previous (checked-in) versions.
User gets an object (such as Mapping, Workflow or Transformation) deleted then it is no longer available through the GUI
but all versions are still in the repository.
To recover the last version if you deleted an object you can first check if the object is still checked out:
If the deleted object was already checked-in, you can recover the object by using the Repository Managers Query tool: